George Mann "Portraits" (2015)

  • Item #: 14
  * Marked fields are required.
Price $14.99

The 2015 solo CD. Twelve songs, nine originals. A solid band behind George and full production, recorded and mixed at Wilburland Studios in Newfield, NY!


1.   A Folksinger in America
2.   It’s Been Too Long Since I’ve Heard From You
3.   The Wrong Side of History
4.   Beautiful Blond Babies
5.   Trickle on Down the Mountain
6.   His Name Was John Perry
7.   Going Away
8.   The Day That Rush Limbaugh Exploded
9.   Together, We Are Union
10.  Poor Richard’s Blues
11.  Broken Hill Miner
12.  I’m Going to McWalbucks Depot


The Players:

Michael Wellen: Drums (Tracks 2, 3, 5, 7, 9, 12)

Doug Robinson: Acoustic and electric bass (Tracks 1, 2, 3, 5, 7, 9, 11, 12);                                        

acoustic and lead guitar on “I’m Going to McWalbucks Depot ™”

George Mann: Acoustic, slide and electric guitars; ebows (Tracks 3, 9); harmonica (Tracks 1, 7);

mandolin (Track 4); keyboards (Tracks 9, 10); lead and harmony vocals

Annie and Marie Burns: Harmony vocals (Tracks 2, 5, 7, 8, 9, 12)

Marie Burns: Harmony vocals (Tracks 4, 11)

Marty Confurius: Celli on “Beautiful Blond Babies”

Molly MacMillan: Piano (Tracks 4, 12)

Kevin Maul: Pedal Steel on “It’s Been So Long Since I’ve Heard from You”

Rosie Newton: Violin on “Trickle on Down the Mountain”

Bob McInnes: Violin on “Broken Hill Miner”

John Broomhall: Harmony vocals on “Broken Hill Miner”

 Produced by George Mann, with invaluable input, a warm environment, and good coffee provided by Will Russell. 

Most of this CD was recorded and engineered by Will Russell at Electric Wilburland Studios in Newfield, New York; some additional tracks were done in home studios (by Kevin Maul and Marty Confurius). John Broomhall’s vocals and Bob McInnes’s violin were recorded in Australia. Mixed by Will Russell and George Mann at Wilburland, October/November 2014. Mastered by Will Russell.

George’s guitars on this record: Martin HD-28; Martin D-16R; Martin OMCE; Yamaha 336-SB; custom Telecaster

All songs written by George Mann except:

“Going Away” by Utah Phillips

“Together, We Are Union” by Jon Fromer

“Broken Hill Miner” by John Broomhall